Skip to content

Migraine update: Neurologists are Amazing

August 18, 2011

I saw a new neurologist this morning, just two days after getting a referral. I was so impressed with the way she made time to answer my 800000000 questions, even looking up whatever she didn’t know off the top of her head. She also took my desire to get pregnant next year seriously! She told me that while I should avoid triptans (the class of meds that includes Imitrex and is usually used to treat the headache once it has started) I can use them for now; she’s even letting me try a new one, since Imitrex almost never works anymore. She also heard my request for a preventative medication that either won’t be a nightmare to get off or that I can safely take while pregnant. I have a new beta blocker, a drug that blocks adrenaline receptors, lowering blood pressure and therefore the pressure in my scalp if my blood vessels constrict during a headache. I was taking one, but it wasn’t helping. And as I said, this new one might be ok during pregnancy. We’ll talk about tfat when the time comes. I’m just glad she didn’t try to convince me to add medications–she simply believed me when I said “these don’t help” and replaced those. I even get to come back in a month or earlier (a really short period of time for a neurologist) and check in. Also, just on case you were concerned, I did pass the physical neurological exam. Which means I can stand still with eyes closed without falling over, among other things. Hope! Thank goodness for good doctors.

Later the same day…

I picked up my prescriptions, and found out the “yikes” way that Flova, my new triptan, is not available in a generic yet. So that’s expensive. But this new beta blocker is really cheap, so if it works, it’ll all balance out. Anyway, what I really wanted to mention was that the neurologist recommended some really affordable supplements to add to my ever-growing list of daily pills. So if you have migraines, you might want to ask your doctor about these two: Riboflavin (vitamin B2) and CoQ-10 (Coenzyme Q-10). Both work to prevent migraines from happening in the first place by improving “energy metabolism. Read about one riboflavin study here and a CoQ-10 study here.

In looking for research about these supplements, I also found a fantastic blog called The Migraine Chronicles that I highly recommend.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. judy permalink
    August 18, 2011 5:40 pm

    I’m so glad you had a good experience with your new neurologist and that there is no underlying pathology, that’s what’s important!. My neurologist also is a good listener, on my first visit he too gave me a list of supplements, CoQ10 150-300mg/day, Vit B-2 400mg/day, Magnesium 400-1200mg/day, and (Petadolex 75mg 2x/day which I haven’t taken) He also said Potassium was very important and to get that by eating bananas,strawberries, green veggies, potatoes with skin, beans and peas.
    I have tryed the Flova, Did she give you a sample? He gave me a sample that was how I tryed it before spending money on an expensive nongeneric drug. If you don’t know if it will work or not, I think that is always a good idea to ask for samples. It can’t hurt and I know these drug companies leave losts of samples. I hope it works for you 🙂 What was the name of the Bata Blocker she gave you? All in all it sound like you are on a good path. Love You!

  2. August 18, 2011 6:07 pm

    I did ask for samples, but they were out. (Isn’t that odd?) The Beta Blocker is propranalol.

Trackbacks

  1. Coenzyme Q10 Supplements, are they needed in a healthy diet? - Slinkyme.com
  2. Coenzyme Q10: The Different Forms and Heart Health (Part 2: Ubiquinol vs. Ubiquinone) | TheHealthy.net

Leave a Reply

