Skip to content

Best Intentions

August 7, 2011

I have a BPA-free water bottle. I threw out all damaged plastic containers. I even plan on switching to metal measuring cups and spoons. But the best of intentions cannot prevent stupidity: I did in fact light a small amount of plastic wrap on fire today. The top of the stove is the best place to let bread dough rise, okay? And I didn’t see that the plastic wrap protecting my dough was that close to the gas burner I was using to reheat my super healthy oatmeal!

This whole thing would be awful if I didn’t have a sense of humor.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2011 1:41 pm

    Do you remember when you and I were playing omnipotent leader of lego-world in the basement and heard the loudest crackle-bang -we went upstairs to find out that your mom had accidentally left a glass on the stove when the burner or oven was turned on?! It had exploded all over the kitchen.

    • August 9, 2011 3:44 pm

      Of course I remember that! That was the only time anything exploded, but she left burners on a lot. Once, we had a toaster that didn’t pop up and the house smelled like burned toast for a month. When she explained her adult ADD to me, I was like “OHHHH! Duh! Glad you’re working on that, Mom!” I don’t have ADD, but I am so much like my mom. I have managed to put some article of clothing on backwards at least once every day for a week, almost. I usually notice before anyone else does…

Leave a Reply

